Webinar 25th Feb: Solar-Powered Water Solutions for Sustainable Agriculture in Sub Saharan Africa

Subject: Webinar
Webinar broadcast date: Thursday, 25 February 2021

08h00 New York | 13h00 GMT | 13h00 London | 14h00 Amsterdam | 15h00 Johannesburg | 18h30 New Delhi | 21h00 Singapore

Solar power has the potential to provide sustainable energy used for water pumping by more than 95%, compared to alternative resources.

In recent years, solar-powered irrigation has become increasingly attractive to countries as a reliable, clean-energy solution for agricultural water management, especially in areas with low elevation topography and high solar radiation incidence levels.

In this webinar, our guest experts will spotlight how Sub-Saharan African countries can simultaneously work towards agricultural development, gainful employment, rural poverty reduction and the sustainable management of natural resources, especially water.

Moderator: Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl, Editor, ESI Africa

Speakers:
Titus Koech, Technical Services Manager SSA | JinkoSolar
Simani Dube, Technical Consultant | Samansco & Solarquest Group
Asenath Kiprono, Global Water & Solar Specialist | Oxfam

 

Leave A Reply

About Author

Green Building Africa promotes the need for net carbon zero buildings and cities in Africa. We are fiercely independent and encourage outlying thinkers to contribute to the #netcarbonzero movement. Climate change is upon us and now is the time to react in a more diverse and broader approach to sustainability in the built environment. We challenge architects, property developers, urban planners, renewable energy professionals and green building specialists. We also challenge the funding houses and regulators and the role they play in facilitating investment into green projects. Lastly, we explore and investigate new technology and real-time data to speed up the journey in realising a net carbon zero environment for our children.

Receive the week’s most popular stories in your inbox every Saturday morning